I’m Not Reading the Bible Anymore

Standard

On the last day of 2016, I presented a little study at church. And I remember recommending everyone there to follow a Bible reading plan for the New Year.

Well, here is the deal: I take that back.

Whoa, whoa! Let me finish here. Don’t jump to conclusions.

Yeah, so beginning January 1, 2017, I went online and downloaded a reading plan to read the entire Bible in one year. I have already read the entire Bible, but I wanted to read it again and stick to a schedule.

And so I began to read…

But–

I missed reading a couple of chapters one day because I got caught up reading another part which was related to what the Sabbath School Lesson was about; and because I did not read them, I somehow felt I was spiritually getting cold and backsliding from the right way.

How wrong I was!

I was treating the Bible like my Chemistry textbook: I have to read all these chapters today, or else I am in BIG trouble.

And here is another thing: you read the amount of chapters you have to read, and then you don’t remember a thing.

So starting today, I will not follow a schedule. I will not merely read the Bible. I will read it diligently. It does not matter if I only read one verse a day, as long as I understand it, apply it to my life, and never forget it.

“Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me.” John 5:39

5 thoughts on “I’m Not Reading the Bible Anymore

  1. I had a very similar experience. I was treating my Bible study as a kind of “homework,” and it is so much more amazing than that. I decided to start reading my Bible every day, but without restrictions and it has been amazing. I am on day 228 of reading my Bible in this scenario and I love it and have found so much comfort in it! I am about to start a Bible study/inspiration series on my blog if you’re interested. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

