Are Christians Allowed to Feel Heartbroken? (PART 2)

Standard

HOW DO YOU BUILD TRUST KEEPING WITHIN BIBLICAL STANDARDS? 

You know, even God gives us evidence. He invites us to try Him.

Psalms 34:8 

“O taste and see that the Lord is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.” 

And how do we build that relationship with God? By daily communication. You pray, you share and read His word, right?

Now let’s translate that to a relationship.

download

In a relationship, you talk with your special someone, you share your dreams, your likes and dislikes, you get to know one another, and you diligently and quickly read those texts and messages that he/she sends, right?

i-love-you-love-quote-secret-favim-com-526653

And just like with God, that trust is built on evidence and proof. By and by you see how that person is. Things will happen along the way that will allow you to see just how true this person is. And then will come that time when you look at that person and know that it is okay to trust him/her, while still being very aware of the fact that he/she is human, and like you, can make mistakes.

You CANNOT trust a human as you would with God. God is all powerful and will never fail you. Go ahead and name one time in which God failed His promise. He NEVER has, and never will.

Okay, so…

SHOULD CHRISTIANS FEEL HEARTBROKEN? 

crying-girl-wallpaper-6

John 11:35 “Jesus wept.” 

Matthew 27:46 ” And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?” 

Jesus did feel heartbroken. He felt heartbroken because of the great love He had for us; for you and me. He could not bear the thought of losing us.

His heartbreak, on the other hand, cannot be compared to the heartbreak that we humans feel. The nature of our heartbreak goes something like this

*I will never trust men ever again because so and so broke my heart

*I am not going to talk to her/him again because he betrayed me, he/she does not deserve to my friend

*He/she does not deserve my ‘hello’

*I hate him/her

*I am going to unfriend him/her, and block him/her from Facebook

Now take a look at how Jesus looks at it:

Zechariah 13:6 “And one shall say unto him, What are these wounds in thine hands? Then he shall answer, Those with which I was wounded in the house of my friends.” 

Revelation 3:20 “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.” 

John 15:13 “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” 

Luke 12:7 “But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not therefore: ye are of more value than many sparrows.” 

Isaiah 54:10 “For the mountains shall depart, and the hills be removed; but my kindness shall not depart from thee, neither shall the covenant of my peace be removed, saith the LORD that hath mercy on the” 

Isaiah 49:15-16 ” Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee. Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; thy walls are continually before me.” 

Yes, we can feel heartbroken, we will feel sad and discouraged–we will cry; but we will also be able to forgive and not fall apart because our stronghold is on God.

forgiveness2

 

Matthew 18:21-22 “Then came Peter to him, and said, Lord, how oft shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? till seven times? Jesus saith unto him, I say not unto thee, Until seven times: but, Until seventy times seven.” 

 

Leave a Reply

