Are You Ready?

Standard

Friday, August 26, 2016

Dear Diary,

Here is step number two! I really learned a lot as I wrote and researched this topic. The two examples I used here in this article I got from Jeremiah Davis. He has some really awesome videos on YouTube. 🙂 

 

STEP #2 Am I Ready For Marriage? 

Okay, so now that you know you are to get married, this is the question you should ask. God might want you to get married, but before that happens, you might need a couple years of intense marriage training. No kidding.

Take a look at this example: A banana. They are very delicious, right? It’s a banana alright, and it is destined to be eaten and digested by a body of a human–or monkey. They are sweet and good, but what happens when they are eaten before they are ripe? Yeah, they don’t taste good and they leave a bad aftertaste, right? Well, the same principle goes for marriage. You might be married some day, but right now you might be sour and bitter–and so not ripe.

So, still the question remains: How do you know if you are ready?

Well, to answer this question, lets talk about a car. Now, I don’t know much about cars or brands, but I do know they have four wheels and two pedals: the gas and the brakes. So lets focus on the pedals for now.

Love=gas pedal     Self-Control=brakes

A good driver knows how to balance those two pedals. Therefore, you know you are ready for marriage if you can balance love and self-control.

How is love manifested?

“If you love me, keep my commandments”. So yes, love is manifested through willing obedience. Doing what we are asked to do, and even doing things without being asked. In married life, I don’t think your husband will be your walking chore-list telling and reminding you what has to be done; unless of course you have a very nice mother-in-law, then that would be very possible. Brace yourself! 😛 LOL!

And lastly, love is manifested through responsibility. Is the young man ready to be a spiritual leader in his home? Is he ready to provide? And for the ladies, are you ready to run a household all by yourself? Are you ready to raise children? Are you even ready emotionally? Listen, I don’t know nothing about marriage, but I’m pretty sure forgiveness is involved.

If a person is not responsible while living at their parents house, what makes you think that person will be ready for a home of their own?

Okay, so what about self-control? Well, self-control simply means that you are able to control yourself: your appetite, your emotions, your passions and everything else.

You know, I could really write so much more, but I don’t want to tire you, and plus I’m hungry and I need my dinner. Lol

So to end, let me ask you a question: how do you envision married life to be?

Do you imagine waking up to breakfast in bed, along with a rose and a love note? And for the guys, do you feel a sense of relief knowing that clean socks will magically appear in your drawer every morning, and that lunch will be waiting in the fridge with a love note?

Well, if that is what you envision married life to be, then you need some 10 years of preparation.

I think that married life is about making that other person happy, and of serving that person you love. You won’t think of what’s in it for you, but you will constantly seek to please that other person.

Now, I’m not saying that love notes and clean underwear are wrong. No, not at all. All I am trying to say is that if one envisions married life in a selfish way, then when one gets married, it will not work out.

That is what I think. If I am wrong, then I hope a married person corrects me.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

stock-vector-kids-washing-dishes-siblings-washing-dishes-together-390966067

 

Leave a Reply

