How to Get Married In 7 Easy Steps

Standard

Friday, August 19, 2016

Dear Diary,

Ya’ think it’s easy to get married?? Nope! Behold, my summarized version of step #1. 😉 

I am finding myself writing once again about relationships, courtship and marriage. It does feel a little weird, you know, writing about something better left for a married person to write or talk about. But here I am, 21 year old girl who thinks she is a genius on these matters.

Hehehe! No, no, no. I don’t think I am a genius at all, I was just kidding. All I am doing here is sharing all the counsel and advice my ears and eyes have soaked up so far. And well, I got inspired to write about this because I see that a lot of people need this advice; and I include myself as well.

You know, I have seen failed courtships, broken marriages; couples who are still together, but they lead miserable and depressing lives, single mothers–you name it! And I keep thinking to myself that maybe, through what I write, I can help someone out there. Even if it is one single person, I still want to make a difference in their life and help them.

So yeah, you need advice when it comes to these matters. I need advice. I have made my fair share of mistakes as well. I am no little saint. And I made these mistakes not because nobody counseled and advised me. I was thoroughly counseled, I just thought that my way had more sparkly flowers.

Okay, so lets get right on with the topic I want to touch on today. And yes, I know…I know, you might think that I am now sounding like your parents. Well, If I do sound like that, I am very happy; that just let’s me know I am on the right track with what I’m writing here 😉

STEP #1: Is God Calling You/Me to Marriage? 

Yes, that is the question that we should ask first. The first question to be asked is not with who, or when will I be married. We need to seek God’s will first and foremost. I mean, for all I know, God might want you to be a spinster–I mean single. There are several examples in the Bible of people who remained single. You got Paul, John the Baptist, Elijah, and even Jesus was not married.

Why were they not married? Does the Bible not say that we are to replenish the earth, and that a man should not be alone?

It was God’s plan for them not to be married. Simple as that. The apostle Paul even recommends that one remain single. But he also understood that not everyone has been called to a single life. And you can read this verse in 1 Corinthians 7:6-9

These great men that I have mentioned had such an amazing work to carry out. I believe that if they had married, they would not have been able to do that work properly. That is why before we marry, we have to ask ourselves if being married will increase our sphere of usefulness for the Lord. Or will we get married and then all of a sudden we don’t even want to go to prayer meeting because there are dishes to be washed?

God has a beautiful and unique plan for each and every one of us. It might be God’s will that you don’t marry just now. And that brings me to another question: Is it God’s will for you to be married NOW? God might want you to get married, but you might still need a good heavy dose of preparation. I mean, one can be 70 years old and not be ready for marriage. And yeah, that explains why there are so many divorces and separations nowadays.

So get on your knees and seek God’s will. Speak with God through prayer and work on building that relationship with Him before you begin any relationship with a human being. Ask of God His will and He will show you. Search His word, because that is the guidebook that will lead you and me in this life.

I know by experience that God will never send you away empty-handed if you seek him with a sincere heart.

Leave a Reply

