In a Relationship With…

Standard

Friday, August 12, 2016

Dear Diary,

Did you think I was in a relationship? Lol! Nope, not at all. Well, I am-but we will talk about that later. 🙂 I just chose this title because everyone is familiar with it, and you know what it means. Okay, on with the writing.

You know, dinnertime at my house is really something. It’s that time of the day when my whole family gets together to enjoy each others company and the food as well, even if it tastes a little weird ( I mean, there have been times where I don’t know how to make my food disappear). Anyways, during dinnertime a lot of things happen: we talk about what happened during the day, someone might get scolded for not doing some work they had to do, we laugh when my brother tries to guess who made the food, we talk about church events or just plain local church planning, I might 99% of the time tease my brother about something; if someone is sick, my Dad and I talk about natural remedies or share our latest discoveries, and my favorite is when my Dad gives us older siblings advice on certain topics.

And well, for the past three days, my Dad has been giving us advice on the subject of relationships–you know, guys and girls, and Facebook chatting and all that drama. I thought about this long, and I really felt impressed to share all the advice my Dad has given me. I know that there might be some of you who were not blessed with godly parents, and so this might be of some help to you. So here it goes.

#1 EVERYTHING HAS A SEASON

Once we were children (blessed stage of life! I wish I could go back), but now we are young adults. With it comes many changes to our bodies, new weird feelings, urges and–well, you know what I mean. No need for me to explain this area.

But sometimes, as my Dad says, one tends to rush everything, especially when it comes to relationships. One should really take it easy. Relationships and courting are serious issues. One should really know the other persons character. Know how that person reacts in various situations. Take this scenario for example: suppose you are a girl and you have your guy whom you love very much. But you want to know how he reacts when he is mad, because so far he is as happy and sweet as cotton candy. And suppose you hire some stranger to break an egg on his head. How will he react? Will he scream and be like, “You are going to pay for this!”, or will he be like, “Hey thanks! My hair will really start growing faster now!” (By the way, egg does make your hair grow faster, but I’ll not get into that Lol!)

Always remember that good looks and a good body will go away pretty soon unless, of course, you make your future spouse sign a contract to go to the gym three times per week or something. Character is what remains. And you have to ask yourself if you are willing to live with such a character for the rest of your living days. That is the reason why it is very wise for two persons to be just and ONLY friends before anything happens.That way you can really know that persons character without them trying to put our only their pretty side. You really want to get to know ‘the good, the bad and the ugly’. And well, if after some long time of being friends you realize that you have feelings for such said person, and you know that your parents approve, and you are sure that God is leading in that direction, then, by all means, take it to the next level.

So yeah, don’t rush things. And don’t feel alone when it seems that the whole world around you is in relationships, and getting engaged and married. God has the right person for you out there–somewhere. You just have to be patient and wait on the Lord.

#2 ONLY TIME WILL TELL

Yup, when it comes to relationships, time is your best friend. Time reveals many things: character, secrets, lies, true love, intentions, motives–you name it!

Here is a little advice for you my fellow girls. My parents always tell me this: “If the guy really cares about you, and has true motives/intentions/feelings, he will respect and wait and not rush things. He will get to know you well, and us too.”

#3 DON’T BE TOO TRUSTING, BUT NOT TOO UN-TRUSTING EITHER

I know this to be very true. Do not be too trusting, but still that does not mean that you are going to live with a  constant senseless fear of “oh my goodness, he is going to cheat on me”, or “I refuse to trust men ever again.” No. It simply means that one should have a little space reserved for the bad. In other words, be prepared for the worse. One should be aware that things might not work out, that humans are humans and will hence make mistakes. If one is well aware of this, and it happens that things do not work out, then you will not be severely broken. You know, I have heard of cases of people attempting suicide because of a broken heart.

#4 LISTEN

*sigh* Listening. This is probably the last thing we do, and in reality it should be the first. We have to listen to counsel and not stuff our ears with artificial earwax. We might think that we are some cool geniuses on life experience, but in reality we are just children who are in need of direction.

So yeah, all of us single people, and also to those who are in relationships or engaged, let’s put on our thinking caps and listen to all the counsel and advice we can get our hands on, and not end up making wrong choices that we will regret for the rest of our lives.

So let’s finish writing the title, shall we.

In a relationship with Jesus Christ.

Yes, that is the person you should be in a relationship with before you even think on courtship or marriage.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “In a Relationship With…

Leave a Reply

