Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Standard

Dear Diary,

This week I will be-or rather I am-on vacations; aka spring break. And so as you know, it’s Tuesday, and lot’s of things have happened and it’s not even the end of the week yet! What else is coming? I hope it’s all good and happy stuff, because I really need some of it.

But you know what? Even as little hard times come up in my life, it helps me to grow stronger in Christ. When I am in doubt, or when my brain is about to burst with all the unanswered questions in my head, it just calms me to go a quiet place and just pour my heart out to God. And I cannot begin to tell you just what level of peace I feel afterwards. It’s amazing!

You know, I just remembered what my parents have said various times, and it goes like this: Medico curate a ti mismo. Translated from Spanish to English it means the following: Physician, heal yourself. And it’s true, many times I just find picking myself up, putting a smile on my face and carrying on. I find myself just repeating what I have told many people before; people that I have helped go through their hard times.

But do you know why I am happy despite everything? It is because I know that everything happens for a reason. The more hard times I go through, the more I know that God is working in my life. It only means that He is polishing those rough spots in my character. And I hope and pray that at last I will be a worthy golden vessel for the Lord.

“And he shall sit as a refiner and purifier of silver…and purge them as gold and silver, that they may offer unto the Lord an offering in righteousness.” Malachi 3:3

~Heidi Alonso

Leave a Reply

